My KickAss Holiday Menu

I have to say, I LOVE to cook. I enjoy planning a special menu, cooking a great meal and sharing it with friends and family. I’m pretty good at improvising recipes and I’ll attempt to cook almost anything. ‘m not great at baking since that generally requires more precise measuring than I am prepared to do but I can do it if my planned menu calls for it.

So here’s the plan for Saturday and Sunday… I lucked out this year because the Zen Master is off dinner duty at the restaurant so the only meal he’ll miss is Christmas Brunch.

Saturday December 24th- Fairly basic meal, my family traditionally does seafood Christmas Eve and since I discovered a few Christmas Eve’s ago that I am allergic to lobster and shrimp, this seemed like a good choice;

  • Seafood Lasagne with scallops and crabmeat- I made this one up myself, fairly simple and super tasty.
  • Green Salad with fresh mozzarella, artichoke hearts and tomatoes
  • Garlic Bread

Sunday December 25th, Brunch- This one will be easy since it requires little cooking on my part since I’m pretty much going to need my energy for the rest of the day. Sadly The Zen Master will miss out on this one with the family but there will assuredly be loeftovers when he gets back;

  • Leek pie- My mom’s specialty, she’ll be making this one
  • Potato Latkes with sour cream
  • Smoked Salmon
  • Fruit Salad

 Sunday December 25th, Throughout the day- Since there will be a large stretch between brunch and dinner and both Princess Punk and myself generally need to eat every two hours, instead of an actual lunch, I’ll just have some stuff to nosh on throughout the day.

  • Spinach and Mushroom Soup- I actually got this recipe from a mystery book by Diane Mott Davidson. It’s awesome, easy and a great way to get some extra veggies into Princess Punk.
  • Buffalo Wings- Tossed in wing sauce made from Frank’s Red Hot Sauce… Gotta love that stuff!
  • Cheese Tray- My mom is putting together a tray of local artisan cheeses with some Pate’ and various olives.
  • Spinach and Artichoke Dip- adapted from a recipe from Alton Brown of Food Network fame.

Sunday December 25th, Dinner and Dessert- Due to my “condition” I tried to choose things that required a bit less labor and time on my feet. The Risotto is going to be a pain in the arse but I do have Zen Master and Princess Punk to help with the constant stirring.

  • Mushroom Risotto- A bit labor intensive but completely worth it. Not sure where I adapted the original recipe from.
  • Green Bean Casserole- Okay, I know what you’re thinking, cream of mushroom soup and fried onions… Not a chance. I’m using fresh green beans in a homemade sauce and I am probably going to top it with almonds but I’m not sure yet.
  • Roasted Brussels Sprouts- Honestly I have no idea if I spelled that right and I’m too damn lazy to look it up. I’m probably going to sautee them quickly with some bacon and onion and then bake them until they’re done.
  • Roasted Goose with Apple-Rum Stuffing- Never cooked a goose before but it was one of the few choices at the grocery store for meat that wasn’t ridiculously expensive. We’ll see how it turns out. I got the recipe from Food.com.
  • Gingerbread- Not the cookie, the cake kind. Again, soooooo not a baker so I’m praying this comes out ok but it should be good and it’s guaranteed to make the house smell AWESOME.

So here’s hoping I can actually cook all that. My mom has offered to help as much as she can but given my history of stubborness and being a total control freak, I’m more likely to do all of it myself then end up crying on the couch because my back hurts so bad. Oh well… It’s usually worth a bit of pain when we all sit down together as a family to some good conversation over a well-cooked meal.

I do Love Christmas!

Wow… I am totally starving now.

Leave a Reply

