Miss me???

Soooo…

Here I sit at work, finally in a lull where I can stop, take a breath and write a post.

I’M SO HAPPY TO BE BACK AT WORK!

Oh yeah… I went there.

Needless to say I’ve been a little bit busy the past week or so. Getting my stuff back in order, meetings, cleaning out my mini-fridge (um… ew), there’s been a lot to get together just to get back into the swing of things. Not to mention that I actually came back to some added responsibilities so fitting all that into my strictly structured workflow (Ha! Try saying THAT five times fast!) has been… interesting. I have said it before and I’ll say it again… I love my job. I feel partially crappy about the fact that I don’t feel crappy about coming back to work and leaving my 2-month old baby with my mom. Soooooo many people kept telling me… “Oh, it’s going to be so hard to go back to work.”

BULLSHIT

Tempting… But probably illegal

It would have been hard staying home. I think if I had to spend another week stuck inside the house with minimal adult contact and no cerebral stimulation I would have lost my ever-loving mind. I can picture The Zen Master coming home to piles of laundry and dirty dishes, The Peach parked in front of the TV with Barney blasting away, Princess Punk strapped to her chair with duct tape and me sitting quietly in the corner, repeatedly banging my head against the wall.

Do not misunderstand, I miss my Peach. I miss her a lot and it takes me 20 minutes to say goodbye to her in the morning (I have yet to make it to work on time). But I have told The Zen Master that if he ever decides he wants a housewife/stay-at-home mom he will have to divorce me and marry someone else because I’m not the one. I’m one of those people who would win the PowerBall and keep working. Seriously.

I love my husband. I love my girls. But I also know that in order to continue to be a good mom and to maintain some moderate level of sanity without killing my family or at the very least, being such a raging “B” that they wish I had, I have to work.

I am not conceited by any means but I know that I am an extremely intelligent person. I don’t always use my brain and I tend to be lacking in certain areas like a sense of direction or financial savvy but I am smart. Add to that a raging case of ADHD and you get a whopping need for significant mental stimulation. If I am not challenged, if I don’t have stuff to not only keep me busy but keep me interested, I. Stop. Functioning. I really didn’t grasp just how vital my job is to me until I was home for 8 weeks. Obviously, I needed time to recuperate and take care of my brand new infant, but once the critical care stuff had passed and my body was back to (somewhat) normal and The Peach didn’t need to be attached to me 24-7, I was B O R E D. Reading some of my recent posts, that seems to be the ever-present theme. So yeah, I’m happy to be back at work.

I love spending time with my baby and watching her grow.  In the past week or so she has discovered that Princess Punk, The Zen Master and I are all separate people and she is fascinated and completely tickled by the sight of each of our faces. She’ll spend extended periods of time laying on her back, cooing and gurgling and grinning at us. She hasn’t quite figured out the mechanics of laughing yet and currently her laugh sounds like a dog that’s about to puke. It’s actually a little disturbing to hear that noise come out of the mouth of a smiling baby, especially given her tendency to barf at the drop of a hat. She is finally sleeping for longer periods at night and life is finally starting to resemble something manageable.

So… Yay!

I am totally doing the happy dance right now…

Leave a Reply

