Not a great start to the week – Updated

So my weekend consisted of a mildly feverish barnacle baby, a cranky husband and a 12 year old with PMS. Somewhere in the midst of this was an indoor soccer game which Princess Punk’s team lost 8-2 and dinner at my sister-in-law’s house. Not much got done around the house despite my good intentions.

Yeah, cuz that’s conducive to typing.

Oh, and Sunday? Sunday I discovered that an infected hangnail is excruciatingly painful and there’s not really anything you can do about it. My left thumb is red and swollen to about twice it’s normal size and I have a suspicious red line working it’s way up my arm. I am calling the doctor as soon as they open. I feel like such a big baby. It’s a hangnail. Seriously? Yet it woke me up at midnight last night throbbing so painfully I was crying and I am completely unable to touch it. It’s making my whole damn hand hurt. I’ve got it iced (hence the bulky bandage) and I’m taking ibuprofen and tylenol and praying I can still be functional at work.

The Zen Master is officially laid off for off season and is home with The Peach. They’re both rather grumpy. Princess Punk was pleasant this morning, probably trying to kiss up since it was discovered last night that she snuck a candy bar at some point yesterday. My stomach is messed up… Again. I was 15 minutes late to work this morning because guess what? It’s really difficult to fasten a bra strap or zip up your jeans without the use of both thumbs. Who knew?

Ya know, despite the general suckiness of my weekend and my Monday morning thus far, I’m actually in a pretty decent mood. Weird.

Update-

And it keeps getting better… The Zen Master is currently on his way to pick Princess Punk up from school. She’s nauseous and her blood sugar is 476. Yay. Oh and I managed to squeeze in a doctor’s appointment and apparently the red line slowly creeping up my arm indicates that yes, I do have an infection and yes, it is starting to spread. So I get a nice round of antibiotics and a warning for the doc to come back if it looks any worse or my thumb might fall off. Okay, she didn’t say that last part, but she did sound forboding about any worsening in my symptomology. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

