Stalemate

I’m at a loss at the moment.

Princess Punk is struggling and I don’t know how to help her. She won’t LET me help her. She is not being compliant with her Diabetes management. She’s having trouble in school, both grade-wise and with social stuff. She has opted out of therapy, which is not something I can actually make her do since she’d just sit there all sullen and quiet anyway. She is keeping up with her chores and whatnot at home but only after A LOT of nagging prodding reminders. The only things she seems to engage in are soccer, art and anything having to do with The Peach (except the gross stuff). She doesn’t want to talk to me. She doesn’t want to talk to The Zen Master. She doesn’t even want to talk to my mom who is usually the ONLY adult she will confide in.

Her school? Not helpful. Last year when she was still in elementary school, we had a comprehensive plan for her including behavior, diabetes and social stuff all rolled into one. She did VERY well with that. This year? Despite my multiple efforts, I don’t even know the name of her TA. The only time I hear from anyone at the school is when she gets in trouble. I spent a half hour on the phone with her homeroom teacher a few weeks ago and was promised that her TA would get back to me within a day or two to discuss some of the issues we’ve been having. I got NOTHING. I sent an email to the principal (since she’s a bit hard to reach by phone) and her response didn’t address any of my concerns and I STILL haven’t been able to contact anyone at the school who has direct contact with my child. Oh, I take that back. Princess Punk’s netbook (the school provided one?) got stolen on Friday. I got a couple phone calls about that. But still nothing actually relating to my first born child and the issues she’s been having at school AND at home.

The school year is over in a few weeks and I feel like we have totally wasted the entire year.

I’ll be the first to admit that I have some issues with The Princess. We’re both stubborn and bitchy and always have to be right. But I’m trying. I really trying. Trying to be calm and listen to her and spend time with her when I’m not all grumpy and stuff. Trying to help her out with school work so she doesn’t actually fail 6th grade. Trying to give her guidance about maintaining her health regarding not only Diabetes management but the whole process of changing from girl to woman. Trying to reassure her that even though her “friends” aren’t always there for her, I am and so is The Zen Master, and my parents, and his parents, and even The Peach.

And she’s shutting me out.

And I don’t know how to help her.

And that breaks my f***ing heart.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: GODDAMMIT « newlifeinvermont

Leave a Reply

