Yesh thash me

When I saw the TMJ doc last month, they took X-rays and manipulated the joint and did all kinds of stuff and then the doc came in and told me that my lower jaw bone was basically all kinds of f***ed up. He showed me the current X-ray that shows my jaw completely dislocating when I open my mouth. It displaces the disc on both sides and that is what is producing the popping sound. This wasn’t really news to me, it was pretty much the same as last time except now it was both sides instead of just the left. What WAS new… On the back side of my right lower jaw, on the part of the bone that fits into the socket (or at least, is supposed to), there is virtually no bone left. I have put so much stress on the joint and caused it to slide out of position so often, the bone has apparently grated away, all the way down to the marrow. In a nutshell, I have very severe arthritis in my right jaw. The left side is better, but still shows some degeneration. The doc was not surprised at the amount of pain I’ve been experiencing lately. He said that at this point, I’m not even a surgical candidate. He said if they were to attempt some kind of surgery, they would risk destroying the bone completely. Joy. So they took a mold of my teeth and planned to have me back in a month to try an appliance to lessen the damage that I am continuing to do.

Today, I was fitted with a splint. It’s basically an acrylic appliance that snaps onto my bottom teeth and makes my jaw align the correct way when my mouth is shut (which, according to The Zen Master, isn’t very often). The idea is to shift the joint so that it actually stays in the socket when I open my mouth. This will ease the pain and stress on the jaw and hopefully give the bone on the right some time to re-form.

So Now I sssschound like Sssschylvester the cat.

I am sssscheriously sssschtoked about Sssschunday’s sssschoccer game

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeepoweredmom
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 11:18:18

    Argh. Good luck! That sounds so uncomfortable, and that news would have made me cry a little. I hope it all works out!

    Reply

    • newlifeinvermont
      Jun 10, 2012 @ 06:56:57

      It was kinda depressing to find the damage was permanent but nothing to do about it now except what I’m already doing. The splint feels a little weird but I’m already getting used to it… Although Princess Punk thinks I sound hiLArious… “Say sugar mom… C’mon… Pleeeeease?”

      Reply

      • coffeepoweredmom
        Jun 10, 2012 @ 07:58:05

        Say sideways? At least you’re making her smile. I’m sure that she’s learning from your example to take what life gives you, do what is necessary, and always enjoy a good laugh. 😀

      • newlifeinvermont
        Jun 11, 2012 @ 08:24:10

        Yeah, I gotta say, I’m glad she is seeing me go through this… Down the road, once she stops growing, she’s going to need jaw surgery and braces and an appliance to fix her jaw. Unlike the diabetes, at least I will be able to say, “It sucks, but if I made it through, than so can you!”

      • coffeepoweredmom
        Jun 11, 2012 @ 08:25:40

        Yeah! You might even be able to tell her that she’s ‘stronger’ than you because of everything she goes through with her diabetes. You’re such a good momma!

Leave a Reply

