So here’s the thing…

My boss’s boss’s boss (does that make them my great-grand boss?) read my blog. They were informed anonymously and honestly I harbor no ill-will to whoever sent the letter but I’m certainly going to try to be a bit more close-lipped at work from this point forward.

I had a stern talking-to at work today (along with some compliments on my writing so it wasn’t all bad).

I almost freaking peed myself. It was truly terrifying. I have a certain amount of job security for various reasons, but something like this? I could potentially get fired (worst case scenario, but then, that’s immediately where my brain goes).

So… For an increased level of… anonymity I guess… and because I really do love my job and I’d actually like to keep it and to comply with work policies, I have marked all posts as private until I have the chance to read through them and make sure they have little or nothing to do with my job. Those that are specifically about work will be marked as private permanently (Heehee, I do love alliteration).

I am going to start at the beginning and work my way to the present posts. I have over 170 posts so far and I’m guessing it may take a few days.

While my job is an important part of my life and I do need to vent about work occasionally, I won’t be making any of that public. As I think I’ve mentioned before, this blog is, first and foremost, a place for me to get out all the random crap that blows through my head. It’s therapy for me. And I’m not going to censor myself. I am, however, going to use some judgement about what I actually let other people read. From this point forward, it’s likely you won’t hear anything more about my work other than, “I had a shitty day at work today.” And I probably will write about my shitty day at work but I’m going to just keep it for my own personal files.

The good news is, because I’m going to be “redacting” anything that might identify my employer or anything about what I do for 8 hours a day, I can be more relaxed about whatever else I post about. Okay, not like I’ve held back at all but it’s nice to know that as long as I keep certain things more private, I’m able to talk as freely as I need to.

So anyway… I’m going to start reviewing… I’m actually looking forward to this… I’ve had this blog for over a year now (although I’ve only bee actively posting for the past 9 months or so) and it will be interesting to look back and reflect over the past year, a year that has been incredibly eventful and life-changing.

Oh, and I suspect that my great-grand-boss is going to continue to read my blog since although I was warned about certain disclosures and when in fact I write my posts, there was also an expression of interest and even genuine enjoyment. Which is quite flattering honestly because even though the whole hierarchy there drives me absolutely insane sometimes, I work for some pretty smart people and the fact they think my writing is good is a huge compliment.

Oh, and just for the record, if I do post while I’m at work, it is not on company time. If I do end up writing a long post that exceeds my breaks or whatever, I will make up the time one way or another. I get my work done and I put in my 40 hours and I do a good job. I may not always work my set schedule (in fact, since The Peach was born, I find I frequently don’t), but I am honest and I work the hours I’m paid for. I admit that I am guilty of slacking off (especially during my pregnancy) but I NEVER fail to get my work done and do it well. I tend to find myself with nothing to do and yeah, I do end up messing around a bit more than I should (which my bosses are aware of and after today are determined to correct) but I still work and I work hard.

Moving on…

Thanks in advance for your patience, I plan to do this as quickly as possible since I seem to have an actual (small) following now and I don’t want to bore anyone. Which is why I’m wrapping this post up now.

And just cuz it was too damn cute, I’m re-publishing today’s original post since it was clearly NOT work-related.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Sorry Folks… « newlifeinvermont

Leave a Reply

