*POOF* another weekend gone

You know I totally forgot it was Father’s Day yesterday until about 9:30 that morning? When my parents came to pick up the girls and I for church. And my mom reminded me. And then I burst into tears because I had done absolutely nothing for my husband OR my father and I suck.

So I made dinner for everybody. I did do it at my parents’ house since they have an outdoor grill and if I try to cook anything in my kitchen and the outside temp is above 75 degrees, my house will turn into a sauna. No lie, I made chicken on Saturday and the thermostat read 84degrees by the time we sat down to eat. Yuck.

So I redeemed myself (kinda). But the rest of the weekend? I’ll be damned if I know where it went.

Ugh and I’m T I R E D.

Oh, I did have a joyous few hours going through the cell phone bill and googling (how DO you spell that anyway?) some of the long distance phone numbers Princess Punk has apparently been texting. Until 1am on a school night. Grrrrrr…

I had another “discussion” with her about internet safety since these were apparently all boys (so they say) she had met in a chat room. I advised her again why that is a bad idea and explained to her why I was being so protective. Not exactly something you want to tell your 12-year-old about and maybe it was a bit harsh sharing that incident with her but I needed her to know that yes, there are bad people out there and you have to be careful who you trust.

We are having her phone number changed and putting a block on it for out-of-state calls. I really wish it wasn’t necessary but unfortunately, the D Monster requires the electronic tether.

I’d like to take a nap now. Not going to happen but a girl can dream right? Oh… That would require sleeping wouldn’t it… Dammit.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeepoweredmom
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 13:50:01

    I read your link. Perhaps commenting is disabled. Thank you for sharing. It is hard if you don’t want to be considered a victim, or perhaps blame yourself for the decisions that placed you there. I know. Thank you.

    Reply

    • newlifeinvermont
      Jun 19, 2012 @ 14:23:48

      I did disable commenting on that post. Basically it was just to avoid sympathy posts because I DON’T want to be considered a victim. And I did blame myself for awhile, but as I grew older, I came to know better. While my decisions were not wise and put me in a situation where something like that could happen, ultimately, the blame goes to him. He made the conscious decision to do that to me and that was never my fault. My mantra in my life has become; “No regrets, just lessons learned.” I just hope Princess Punk can learn from my lessons too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

