Another one bites the dust

Son of a bitch.

I have lost another loved one to the addictive, stupefying power of…

The Screen

The Peach was super fussy this morning. I think she got a little bit of a sunburn while at Princess Punk’s soccer camp yesterday since she was out in the sun for about 30 freaking seconds. Princess Punk usually helps me with Peach on Saturdays so /i can sleep in a little bit but she spent the night at a friend’s house last night so it was just me and a red-faced, grumpy and royally pissed-off little person. She didn’t want a bottle and she was less than enthusiastic about oatmeal (her current favorite… of the 4 different types of food she actually eats). She snuggled with me for about 15 seconds before she decided it was too fucking hot and she didn’t like being sweaty. We are in the air-conditioned bedroom but it has been so hot that while it’s a relief from the rest of the house, it’s still pretty hot. So I’m racking my brain trying to figure out how to get her to stop “Nnnnuuuuuhhhh…. mmmmmmooooowwwwww… RAH! Mmmmmmmmep… grrreeeeeeh… MEHmmmmmm” and on and on and on… And I finally decide to try the TV since I kinda have to pee and I’d really like to get at least one load of laundry in before the laundry room (okay…. laundry area) turns into the devil’s steamroom.

So I put on this;

And got this;

Shit.

I’ve already lost The Zen Master and The Princess to the screen. Mostly video games and computer, but no matter what the flickering light is doing, it turns them into mesmerized zombies that stop whatever it is they’re doing and veg. I swear their IQ temporarily dips into the 50’s while they are in front of the screen. The Princess is limited to 2 hours of screen time a day, which includes ALL her devices with the exception of texting on her cell phone where at least I can encourage her to at least work on her spelling. I refuse to respond to texts from her with misspelled words. I don’t have that luxury with The Zen Master of course since he is (at least by age) a grown-up. And of course, I’m guilty myself… I’m on the computer all day at work where I have not one but two monitors and when I get home, I’m on my laptop or playing on my phone whenever I’m actually sitting (which is not a whole lot of the time unfortunately). But I do try to get involved in family interactions and I make sure we all get some face time even if some nights it’s only during dinner.

I don’t want the various electronics in our house, of which there are many, to get in the way of us being a family.

That being said… I let the Peach watch The Backyardigans for a half hour so I could go pee, put in a load of laundry and have some breakfast. I know there are plenty mothers out there who are horrified at the idea of using the TV as a Nanny, but sometimes, it is a necessary evil in my house.

At least it’s not Dora.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coffeepoweredmom
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 19:58:27

    SOMETIMES THE SCREEN IS THE ONLY WAY TO GET A BREAK!!!!!!
    There. I said it.
    That Dora picture is hilarious and true.
    When Ally was one she would wake up at six, at the time I was pregnant, morning sick, working AND in school so I would put the TV on for an hour before I woke up at seven.
    I needed it and she didn’t die. There. 😀

    Reply

    • newlifeinvermont
      Jul 20, 2012 @ 18:00:57

      I reeeeaaally try to not let the TV be the nanny most of the time… it’s something that I feel particularly guilty about with the princess since I spent MANY hours (not just one in the morning) with her plugged into the tube so I could sleep. I’m pretty good with The Peach though, it’s only a last resort and lately I can usually keep her occupied with something else… A frozen string bean will give me at least 20 minutes 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

