Thankful Thursday

Okay so it’s Friday but I got wrapped up in Monopoly with The Zen Master and Princess Punk last night and forgot to hit “Post.”

First of all, credit where credit is due, thank you blackcatsandbuttons for this marvelous idea. I’ve been a bit bummed this week and I think making note of a few of the little things in my life that are good might make me feel a little less “poor me.” So here are 10 things I’m thankful for today;

  1. Our house was under 80 degrees last night so The Peach slept in her crib instead of smushed between The Zen Master and me.
  2. Princess Punk actually folded the laundry like she was supposed to so it didn’t take me 10 minutes of cursing while plowing through a 3 foot pile of clean laundry in order to find something to wear to work.
  3. $1 coffee at McDonalds
  4. I found a Red Bull in my mini-fridge at work when I thought I was out and didn’t have enough money to get one on the way.
  5. The Zen Master made me Shepherd’s Pie and Crème Brulee for our anniversary. It was AWESOME.
  6. The heat wave finally broke and it has been a beautiful day outside.
  7. My mom sold one of her bags for $50 and got a spot in a craft show this weekend
  8. I got invited to a friend’s house for “Mommy Margaritas”
  9. I have a husband who is nice enough to go back out to the store after working a 10-hour-day AND picking up the girls, just to get me a bottle of wine and some chocolate. I still can’t figure out what I did to deserve him…
  10. Tomorrow is Friday! (Okay well technically, today is)

Oh and today??? I had a super shitty morning (just for a quick example, I didn’t get any coffee cuz I left it at my mom’s) but the following awesome things made my day much better-

  1. I got to recognize a co-worker for doing an exceptional job. It is always extremely satisfying to tell someone that their hard work is noticed and appreciated.
  2. I was finally able to get into our chest freezer on the front porch. It had been blocked by trash (gross right?) since my father-in-law had been unable to come and haul away our trash for several weeks. I’d still rather wait on him than pay the stupid “Waste disposal company” 40 bucks a month to come pick it up.
  3. Because we are helping my mom with her craft show tomorrow and The Princess is doing the artwork for her signage (she is quite talented, my kiddo) she is spending the night over there. So I get a little quiet tonight… Except for The Peach. But she goes to bed at 7:30 anyways.
  4. I just drank a glass of wine 🙂
  5. My computer is cooperating with me.
  6. The Zen Master and I get to eat a nice dinner, just the two of us (since The Peach will be sleeping by then) and I may even get to make out with my own husband! (Overshare? Sorry.)
  7. The Princess mowed the lawn yesterday, without complaint… One less thing for me to do this weekend!
  8. I may actually get some sleep tonight.
  9. We might actually make some money tomorrow.
  10. It’s the weekend! WOOT!

Ahhh… I feel better already!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blackcatsandbuttons
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 21:26:56

    You are most welcome, I just pinched the idea from some other random blog I saw..but it helped me lift myself out of my grey mood even if I couldn’t find 10 things 😉 Happy anniversary (did I say that already this week?) Creme brulee..om nom nom!

    Reply

    • newlifeinvermont
      Jul 20, 2012 @ 22:28:46

      You did say happy anniversary already but that’s okay, I don’t know if I’ll ever get tired of hearing it. Sometimes it still blows my damn mind that I’m a happily married mom of 2! And that damn creme brulee was damn near orgasmic… Oh shit… There I go with the overshare again…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

