An Open Letter to 2012

Dear 2012,

So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Adieu…

Just though I’d make a quick “Sound of Music” reference seeing as how I live 30 minutes away from the Von Trapps…

Maybe that was a bit insensitive. Anyway.

First of all, I want to say, it’s not you, it’s me.  Although we had our ups and downs, overall, I think you were pretty good to me. I really want to say thank you. Thank you for being a great year. But now? Now it’s time for us to part ways. While I’m sad to see you go, you must understand that I have to move on, to look forward. And yes, I must admit, I have another year waiting in the wings. I’d like to think you approve, even though it does mean I’m leaving you. I’m just hoping 2013 treats me as well as you have.

You gave me The Peach. How freaking awesome is that? She is a joy and a delight, and I will remember you always as a special year simply for that gift alone. I do have to say, you rushed by awfully quickly with the first 350 days of her development. I know I missed a few things and I wish you had taken your time and been a bit tender with me on that. I suppose I can forgive you, I know you didn’t have a choice in the matter. In spite of that, I enjoyed every fleeting moment with her, even the screaming, crying, poopy, pukey, snotty ones.

You helped Princess Punk grow up (a bit). Not only in a temporal sense but as a person in general. She’s a phenomenal person, and you were the one, the year she made the transition from girl to woman. I look at pictures of her with that snarky 2011 (if you happen to see 2011, don’t tell them I said that) and she still looks like a kid. I look at her with you? I see a young adult, ready to burst into the world although, now that I think about it, maybe you could have been a little less hasty since she doesn’t always seem to be ready for all that responsibility. You were a good year to her through all the hissy-fits, drama, D Monster and all. You were always there and you helped us make it, one day at a time.

Oh, and let’s not forget The Zen Master. You really outdid yourself there. I think that was the most inconspicuous thing you brought to our relationship but he was the glue that kept it all together, even when you were being shitty to me. And yes, let’s face it, you were shitty to me at times. Downright abusive once or twice, to me personally and to others (and yeah, I know there were others but that’s okay). I know you’re sorry and even though you beat me down to the ground a few times, you helped me back on my feet again. You promised to be nice and never do it again and you persuaded me to move along with you. And I’m glad I did.

Yeah, and I gotta mention the blog too. Although it got kinda sporadic at the end there, I really appreciate that and the fact that you brough so many people along with you. Pretty cool.

You did so many nice things for me, I can’t even name them all (although I did document a lot of them here). I am so sorry I have to do this. Please know I will always remember you fondly and although I must move on, you will always have a place in my heart.

Goodbye 2012. Maybe we can still be friends?

Leave a Reply

