That’s it… I suck.

I think I’ve turned my kids into junk food junkies.

funny-men-hungry-sammich-sandwichOk, The Zen Master totally doesn’t help, he tends to eat a large amount of food and is constantly bringing home Doritos and Snickers and Kit Kats and various other processed food crap. The man has a worse sweet tooth than a PMSing fruit fly. Hmmm… Wow, that was a weird analogy even for me.

Anyhow… I’ve kind of given up on the whole “keeping my kids away from overly-sweetened, processed, chemically foods” thing. i-wish-this-was-a-source-of-tasty-healthy-food-that-I-could-afford-700x468Partly because when you are feeding a kid with an appetite like Princess Punk, you gotta pack A LOT of lunch and chef boyardee and baloney on white are cheaper than whole grain bread and carrot sticks. And… partly because I want the stuff myself. And it’s unfair for me to tell The Princess that she can’t bring a pop-tart for her snack at school when that’s what I had for lunch today (true story). I think part of the reason The Princess was sneaking food was because I was doing that. So, instead of cutting out the junk myself, I just gave in and let her have it too.

poptarts and bacon

And The Peach? Princess Punk thinks it’s funny to give her sweet stuff because she shrieks like a banshee and claps her hands and it’s really adorable. And I gave her take-out chinese food last night. And because she’s eating mostly table food now (that makes her sound like a puppy. weird.), she’s developing tastes and preferences and all kinds of weird eating habits, some of which are kinda annoying. She apparently doesn’t eat more than one kind of food at a time. If you put 2 different things on her tray, she will have a bite of each, decide which one she wants and carefully grab up the other and drop it on the floor for Fairy Dog. “UH ooooooooooooooo…” Fantastic.

I never got to eat junk food as a kid. I don’t think I ate white bread until I was in grade school. I know I didn’t eat sugary cereal until middle school at least. I was in my 20’s the first time I had fruit loops, no lie. Sweets was never a big thing for me anyway because I’ve always had a taste for more of the savory… Pizza, tacos, pasta, hamburgers… Saturated fat and simple carbs… YUM. I used to stay home sick from school and order pizza. And eat the ENTIRE thing. Pizza Hut used to have this triple layer pizza where it was like thin crust, layer of cheese, thin crust, toppings… Holy crap, my stomach just growled. I think they stopped making it because it caused to many heart attacks.

Plus, my eating habits are weird… I don’t watch the fat in my food and I learned to cook in the south so fried chicken smothered in gravy with buttery mashed potatoes and collard greens cooked with some kind of pig part… A favorite dinner in my house. Goddammit I am HUNGRY.

Avoid my home between 6 and 6:30... Seriously.

Avoid my home between 6 and 6:30… Seriously.

~Noms Intermission~

I realize that reading this, there is no break in the content of the post, but given my brain… Where Was I? Right. Healthy eating is rarely a reality in my house. Good-for-you food also happens to be a little bit more time-consuming. Yes, it’s likely that some of the crap/processed food I buy could actually be cheaper if I made it myself, but driving 45 minutes to get to the whole foods co-op to buy bulk peanuts to make no additive peanut butter… Not gonna happen. A co-worker gave me really great instructions for home-made yogurt that is a LOT cheaper than buying store-bought, especially since we get a lot of our milk from WIC. But it’s a lot of work… and requires time, patience and following directions. I’m going to attempt it. At some point. Really. I swear.

MjAxMy01MDI1YmY2MzgwZjRjYWJlMeal time in general has actually kind of fallen to the wayside too. I’ve always tried to make a point of sitting together at the table as a family to have dinner. It is better for everybody, mentally and physically. It’s a proven fact. But lately we’ve been eating dinner together, but in the living room watching TV. This is not the example I’d like to set for The Peach. She’s going to be screwed up enough with her parental and sibling examples, she doesn’t need to add a non-cohesive family into the mix. Eating together is important, we talk, laugh and enjoy each others company. It’s a way to connect and it should be a priority right now especially since I’ve been feeling so disconnected.

I make a lot of excuses about healthy eating to myself (and others apparently since I’m blogging about it) because I feel guilty about not feeding my family decently. But a good portion of it is I’m just lazy. And broke. Because, excuses or not,  finances really are an obstacle with this. But I’m really going to try and do better. I want my kids to be healthy and not grow up with a weight problem like I did.

1332276567914_3704055_large

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. monkeymindedmom2013
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 07:28:29

    I admire you for your honesty. I can’t help but wonder if maybe you have more options than you are aware of. Do you have room to grow a garden? Is there a co-op space you could share with others and grow fresh fruit and veggies? My sons LOVED having a small garden in our backyard. They were picking carrots out of the ground well into the winter…it was worth the effort.

    Either way, self-realization is the first step towards transformation. I think the next step might be commitment…stop giving everyone so much slack and be the change you want to see.

    Good luck!

    Reply

    • newlifeinvermont
      Feb 16, 2013 @ 10:47:58

      My parents do have a pretty big garden, and we do get lots of veggies in the fall… Shorty growing season but we still get a fair amount to supplement our grocery budget that time of year. It’s not that I don’t give my kids vegetables and fruits, we do a lot of canned and frozen, no sugar or salt added… It’s the other stuff that falls through the cracks. School snacks and fast breakfasts and grabbing a quick dinner between homework and the basketball game. Just the fact that Princess Punk is perpetually hungry presents issues since even though we stay within a fairly stable snack and meal schedule, we don’t have time to fix something healthy 85% of the time, even if we had something on the house.

      Reply

  2. monkeymindedmom2013
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 06:56:00

    Love is the only thing your kids need to thrive…the rest will work itself out.
    BTW-isn’t it totally weird that a processed food costs so much less than food straight out of the ground? How layers of manufacturing and production are in a simple Twix bar? To quote Kelly BundY, “Makes the mind wobble.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

