A work in progress…

I am currently sitting in my room, at my desk, on my now working laptop.

It is SO nice to have an actual keyboard to type on.

But we’re still shifting. Trying to make this home fit us, to make this living situation work.

So here’s a (very) rough floor plan-

A General Idea

A General Idea

This is not working too well.

The Family Room has been completely taken over by Princess Punk. It’s gross, the couch (that came with the house) is busted and itchy and the carpet (the only one in the house) is disgusting. Here’s the thing… She’s completely taken over My Mom’s space too. They were supposed to share, but… Have you ever shared anything with a 14-year-old? And both of the girls have wormed their way into my bedroom and latched their sharp little claws into my own space.

The room where the hot tub is was supposed to be my private space. It isn’t. It’s full of spiders and is smells funny from the spa chemicals. It’s fine for the 20-30 minutes I need to soak the worst of my aches out, but as a place for me to just hang out? Nope.

So here’s the current plan… TV and PS3 will move into what is now the living room and will become the family room. The Playwoom (yes I spelled that right) will move into what is now the family room and Princess Punk will move her art space in there as well. It’s much more appropriate (and sanity-inducing) for siblings to share space rather than a teenager share a space with her grandmother.

I’m still working out where I want to be, but honestly, if I can keep the girls out of my bedroom and get a more comfortable desk and chair, I’m fine here. All I want is a comfortable place to write, play CandyCrush and watch Netflix.

 

Just a little furniture moving...

Just a little furniture moving…

So, a small change should make a big difference-
And The Zen Master? He has the majority of the basement. Not too worried about him. Although he might need a door. Don’t want another generation walking into his office while he’s viewing “questionable material” on his computer…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. movieguy41
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 10:05:52

    Limits can be set, even for teenagers.

    Reply

    • newlifeinvermont
      Sep 04, 2014 @ 10:09:52

      Yes. But since Mom has (and always has had if you recall) problems with enforcing boundaries, we have to make it cut and dried. No sharing of space with Mima. Period. No wiggle room. Mom is relieved to not have to enforce that particular rule (although she has been great about others) and The Princess seems to be okay with the idea as well. We kind of let the family room go because no one else wanted to be in there anyway. Once we move it, she’ll be grounded a day for every day she leaves her crap in there. We’ll see how it works 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

