Reality check(list)

I make lists. I loooooove to make lists. I’m told it has something to do with my ADHD and anxiety in that I feel like I have some control over my hectic life when I make a list. The problem with this theory? My lists are generally useless. I decided this morning that in order to feel more accomplished and give myself an ego-boost or sumthin like that I was going to make a more realistic list of things I might actually DO.

Here is what my “I-am-in-control-of-everything” list looked like;

  1. Call Princess Punk’s endocrinologist and make a follow up appointment
  2. Call physical therapy and schedule therapy sessions during lunch times for the next three weeks
  3. Clip grocery coupons
  4. Plan menu for the week, strategically using couponed items and items already in the fridge/freezer/pantry
  5. Go grocery shopping for items on menu
  6. Catch up on laundry
  7. Sort through clean clothes and pack up summer clothes to prepare for interminable Vermont winter.
  8. Cook several casseroles or quiches in order to have a hot lunch while at work during the week.
  9. Go to work and do a fantastic job, impress everyone and get a raise (HAHAHA, Woooooo…. ok, even on my “ideal” list I know that isn’t gonna happen)
  10. Get a full night’s sleep, wake up refreshed, have a good, home-cooked breakfast and get to work on time.

And my “Reality” list;

  1. Stop at endocrinologist’s office on the way home from obstetrician appointment and beg for an appointment that is not 3 months out and at 11am on a school day.
  2. Forget about physical therapist until it has been long enough that I have to go back to my PCP and get another referral.
  3. Realize that I completely slept through Sunday and my opportunity to grab the newspaper that has the coupon section
  4. Go to Costco with my mom to get some essentials, get home with several hundred dollars worth of bulk meat, toilet paper and batteries then realize we are out of milk
  5. Stop at the grocery store on the way home from work 3-4 nights this week since although our freezer is full of various meat choices, I consistently forget to take things out to defrost so they can actually be cooked and eaten
  6. Stare at laundry pile and weep silently
  7. Sort through dirty laundry and wash enough underwear, socks and work/school clothes to make it through the next 5 days
  8. Cook dinner at least 3 times during the week while simultaneously screaming at the Princess to do her homework and slamming dishes around the kitchen because I never have the ingredients I need
  9. Eat lunch at work of baloney sandwich, buy lunch or sit at desk absent-mindedly eating Chex mix until I feel ill
  10. Get 3 hours of sleep, hit the snooze button 3 times and stop at McDonalds on the way to work making sure I am at least 10 minutes late

That’s better. Much more realistic. Also much more depressing. Damn.

Leave a comment